Tags

, , , ,

Amazing discovery this week, How to Get Your Family to Eat More Vegetables. Hint: vegetables left indefinitely on the counter will get eaten! Like most people in Israel, I live on the wonderful and healthy Mediterranean diet of fresh vegetables, fruits, olive oil, legumes, fish and chicken, in that order (not including my personal passion for cheese).

Israeli’s usually buy their vegetables and fruits in shocking quantities compared to the American grocery shopper who will buy, say one or two apples or cucumbers in a market run. I have been partially converted by buying mine by the half kilo (kilo=2.2 lbs.). We recently went to our local fruit seller and I ran in to pick out two avocadoes and ran back out to the car, fording off ticketers in an illegal parking spot while saying to my husband “buy these”. When we got home I realized that he had bought someone’s kilo+ of tomatoes left on the shopkeeper’s checkout. I already had my lb. of tomatoes now we were overwhelmed, so I left them on the counter and they are actually being consumed.

Now my husband is the most respectable and gracious guy I know and love. He is the envy of his entire extended family, including me, in that he eats a daily calorie intake of easily more than 3000, has been on a 3 hour feeding schedule since birth, eats everything you shouldn’t and still is rail thin and has low cholesterol. He is not the epicure I am, in fact he is even known, if left to himself, to take leftovers and reheat them all in a pan with tomato paste mixed in, and will eat it while I watch in horror and ‘palatery’ shock! He doesn’t really cook, except grillling, which he excels at,but can do eggs, french toast and oatmeal.

He loves Pace Picante sauce which my food snobbery won’t endure, I only ever bought for him in the States and is unavailable here. In fact all the bottled salsas here make Pace seem gourmet. You would think in the land of the world’s tastiest tomato a local company could produce a decent salsa, but….

So Dave set out to make his own searching the internet for a recipe to re-create his beloved Pace picante medium. What he finally created was fresh, amazing and excellent, I share it here with you:

1 kilo (2.2 lbs.) fresh ripe tomatoes
1 cup water
1 fresh large jalapeno pepper minced, seeds removed
1 medium yellow onion minced
1 clove garlic minced
1 tsp. salt
1 bunch cilantro
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tsp. sugar
black pepper
olive oil

Fry onions and minced garlic in olive oil until translucent. Add jalapeno and cook a minute or two more. Set aside. Bring tomatoes and all other ingredients to a boil, add onions, garlic and pepper. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes. Store in airtight jar in fridge until cold and serve.

