Tags

, , , , , ,

morelli pasta My local shop for ‘all things not kosher’ has been selling a line of flavored Italian pastas called Morelli, made in GMO free Italy. My favorite is the one featured here in the photo, but when he was recently out I decided to try the black pasta which derives its inky color from squid ink.

I searched the internet for recipes for black pasta and adapted one that I found for myself.  Most of the recipes I found used seafood, but after trying and tasting the pasta at home for the first time; I had it before in a seafood dish in Miami, I now believe its an interesting pasta for any sauce, the flavor is not a seafood flavor, but the look is dramatic.

Seafood squid ink pasta

Seafood squid ink pasta

Squid Ink Pasta with Calamari and truffle oil

1 pound squid ink pasta
1/2 cup white wine
1/4 cup cooking cream (10-15% fat content)
2 tsp. crushed pepper flakes
juice of half lemon
2 tbsp. butter
2-3 tbsp. olive oil
Italian parsley
1 cup calamari rings
1 cup imitation crab meat
1 clove garlic minced
white truffle oil
Fresh grated parmesan

Cook pasta in boiling salted water with olive oil to al dente while you prepare sauce. Cook minced garlic in Olive oil, add crushed red pepper. Add butter and calamari and imitation crab meat to saute. Pour in wine and cream, if sauce is dry you can add chicken stock to moisten.
Place sauce over pasta and drizzle over lemon juice and truffle oil and garnish with parsely. Cover with fresh grated parmesan. Salt and black pepper to taste.

