Tags

, , , , , ,

gingerbreadAfter years of waiting, it was supposed to be a birthday present, then a house gift to me for Rosh Hashanah, then a hanukkah present, then the New Year passed (2012, 2013) until finally I became inspired by a hard fought battle with the Target hand mixer brought from the US and marched down to the appliance store and bought my KMix like any other Israeli on “teshlumim” (payments). Like any major purchase, being in sales myself, I do deep research before a major purchase and decided on the Kmix rather than the popular Kitchenaid.

kmix post-unwrapping

kmix unwrapped

I can’t say I’m a great baker, but the machine has proved itself for other whippables and mixables, like mashed potatoes, whipping cream, and especially in kneading dough, I had been straining my most beloved food processor’s dough functions. My man, who is the quality tool collector loves it since he had been by default assigned the mashed potato battle.

In celebration of the final payment this week and pre-passover indulgence plus craving I decided to make gingerbread, a favorite childhood memory food.  Neither mother or grandmother were great bakers, but they did make date bread, gingerbread and apple pies (3 trees in backyard) regularly. I love spicy food and wanted to make a version more to my taste, I adapted this one from Epicurious. If watched carefully, it turns out moist and wonderful, for the high altitude here I added a bit more flour.

Intense Gingerbread

5 tbsp. melted butter
1/4 cup demerra sugar
1/2 cup blackstrap molasses
1/4 cup honey
1 tbsp. powdered ginger
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 cup milk
1 large egg
1 tsp baking soda dissolved in tbsp. of very warm water
1 1/4 cup all purpose flour
baking pan 8x8x2

lemon zest strips
whipped cream
(a non-dairy version can be made without milk, using water or a milk substitute and a quality neutral flavored oil)
Preheat oven to 325F. or 160 C. Grease and flour pan. After melting butter I dumped all the ingredients in my mixer and turned it on high until blended. Mixture is a bit runny for a cake, but turns out, trust me. If you live in a lower altitude you can decrease flour to 1 cup and 1/8 of flour.
Bake closely watching, mine was done to moist perfection in 25 minutes.

Dress with whipped cream and a few decorative strips of lemon zest.

 

 

