Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I love getting inspired from magazines like Cook’s Illustrated, websites like Food and Wine, and cooking shows on the food channel. I rarely follow any of their recipes without making changes, sometimes to the point that it becomes totally my own. I was watching a show I love, “Gordon Ramsay’s Ultimate Cookery Course” on a rather cold, dreary and boring holiday day off. An hour before dinnertime I started becoming famished with every amazing recipe he presented featuring my most loved ingredients, chilis and spices.
IMG_7317
He made a wonderful sweet chili sauce condiment that I figured I might have a few of the ingredients in my fridge and cupboard, anyway launching from his idea, I created my own version.

3 sweet pablano chilis
1 tsp chili flakes
1 tsp. sea salt
black pepper
2 cloves garlic
3 tbsp. olive oil
juice of half lemon
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tsp. vinegar
1/2 tbsp. brown sugar
IMG_7315

In small saute pan saute minced garlic quickly, without burning. In a mortar and pestle or food processor crush cilantro, salt, sauteed garlic with the oil and chili flakes, balck pepper to taste and brown sugar. Chop finely the pablano peppers, mix together soy sauce, lemon, vinegar and remaining 2 tbsp. of olive oil.

Let condiment sit in the fridge to meld flavors. Use as a dressing for fish, hummus, however you might use bottled sweet chili sauce.

my chili sauce on salmon

my chili sauce on salmon

