Tags

, , ,

homeade chipotle bbq sauce

homeade chipotle bbq sauce

My mother used to make her own barbeque sauce which in my childhood palate I thought it was the best on earth. Her recipe is still around somewhere but like many of my favorite dishes of my Mom’s I found my palate changed as I matured to prefer far more spicy and intense flavors.

I was inspired by one of my favorite bloggers “Will cook for Friends” to make this adapted version of her chipotle barbecue sauce. I prefer mine less sweet so cut out some of the sugars and altered a few ingredients. My Israeli friends will be disappointed by the lack of availablity of dried Chipotle pepper spice, but you may try to achieve something similar with smoked paprika and stove-top or grill roasting a red jalapeno first,and then frying it in the beginning with the onions and garlic. You could just add an equivalent amount of cayenne pepper, (that will give the heat but be less smoky). I brought chipotle powder from the US.

This recipe took me about 10 minutes to make and turned out hot and tangy, not too sweet.
Chipotle BBQ Sauce
1/2 small yellow onion, roughly chopped
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp. olive oil
3/4 cup ketchup
Juice of one lemon
1/4 cup honey
1-2 tsp chipotle powder
1 tsp. worcestershire sauce
1/2 Tbsp. smoked paprika
1/2 tsp. dijon mustard
1/4 tsp. cumin

Cook onions and garlic in olive oil until clear. Add dry spices, fry briefly. Add remaining ingredients and simmer low a few minutes. Cool. Purée in processor and store in clean jar.

