Tags

, , , ,

I adapted this recipe from Food and Wine

Raspberry and fig cake

Raspberry and fig cake


One of my main adaptations when I make any baked goods from a USA based recipe I cut the sugar at least in half. For this recipe I used 3/4 cup of sugar and it was easily sweet enough, even with the addition of tart raspberries. According to the original recipe I worked from this recipe is Scandanavian. A great coffee cake for brunch.
The cake is very simple, I decided to reduce the workload and not zest the limes, it turned out wonderfully tart anyway. I did add the lime juice called for. Pretty much I did what I could to further simplify the recipe and it was a winner.

Ingredients:
3/4 cups granulated sugar
3 large eggs
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
Juice of 1 lime
1/2 pint raspberries
4 figs, cut into eighths, or additional 1/2 pint raspberries
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting
raspberry preserves

1. Preheat the oven to 350°. Butter a 9-inch springform pan and flour. Beat with a mixer the granulated sugar and eggs at high speed until fluffy, 2 minutes. Beat in the melted butter. At low speed, alternately beat in the flour and lime juice until mixed.
2. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the surface. Gently press in the raspberries and figs. Take small teaspoons of raspberry preserves and drop into batter dotted across the cake. Bake the cake on the bottom third of the oven for 40 minutes. Watch the cake until it is golden and tests with a clean toothpick inserted in middle.
3. Transfer the cake to a rack to cool. Run a thin knife around the edge and release the springform. Dust the cake with confectioners’ sugar.

Simple and beautiful. I think if you don’t have fresh figs available other malleable fruits could easily replace them. I used frozen raspberries as fresh were not in season and it turned out great. the addition of the raspberry jam offered just an extra punch of sweet/tart.

